Board of Equalization

The Board of Equalization meets annually to review the valuation of properties for those property owners that feel that the valuation of their property is not comparable to other like properties in the City. This meeting is held at the Commissioners Room of the Watonwan County Court House. A notice of the meeting time and location is sent to all property owners by the Watonwan County Assessors Office.

The assessment of properties for tax valuation purposes is contracted with the Watonwan County Assessors office. A listing of all properties in the City of St. James is available on Beacon.

The members of the Board of Equalization are trained and certified by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. The members are appointed to their position by the Mayor with consent of the city council.

The current members of the Board of Equalization are:
Jonathan Wilson - Mayor
Amanda Glass - City Manager
Kathleen Hanson- Council Representative
Sue Craig- Council Representative
Paul Harris- Council Representative