Planning Commission


  • Last Tuesday of every month.
  • A completed application must be submitted by the second Tuesday of each month to be considered at the month's meeting.
      City Hall
      1205 6th Avenue S.
      St. James, MN 56081

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


Members of the Planning Commission are appointed to the position and each serve four-year terms.

  • Dwight Kuehl (Chairman)
    Appointed 01-03-95
    Term expires 01-01-27
  • Steve Lanoue
    Appointed 01-01-2023
    Term Expires 01-01-2027
  • Dan Dorschner
    Appointed 01-01-01
    Term expires 01-01-2024
  • Bob Rinne
    Appointed 07-05-16
    Term expires 01-01-27
  • Jim Paulson
    Appointed 04-19-2022
    Term expires 01-01-2024 
  • Jonathan Wilson, Mayor
  • Gene Hildebrant, Council Representative
  • Steve Sunde, City Attorney
  • Brianna Sanders, Economic Development Director

About the Commission

The Planning Commission advises the City Council on issues pertaining to land use, zoning, building permits, and development in the city. The Planning Commission meets, reviews information from staff, and makes recommendations to the City Council on various zoning related issues including:

  • Ordinance Amendments
  • Rezoning
  • Special Use Permits
  • Variance Requests
  • Sign Permits